CMSgt (Ret) John J. Pavey, Jr.
CMSgt (Ret) John J. Pavey, Jr.President
Chief Master Sergeant Pavey was born on 20 July 1961 in Richmond, Virginia. Following graduation from Meadowbrook High School, he enlisted in the Air Force in September 1978. Upon the completion of basic and technical training, Chief Pavey was assigned to the 21st Civil Engineering Squadron, Material Control Section, Elmendorf AFB, Alaska, as an administrative specialist. In January 1981, he was reassigned to Headquarters, Tactical Air Command, Deputy Chief of Staff, Personnel, where he served in the office of Senior Officer Management. He was subsequently assigned to Lackland AFB, Texas, for duty as a military training instructor with the 3706th Basic Military Training Squadron. In January 1988, Chief Pavey was reassigned to the Headquarters, Basic Military Training School’s Standardization Evaluation Division. In addition to assisting in conducting evaluations on more than 600 instructors and 60,000 trainees annually, he served as the Noncommissioned Officer in Charge of Drill and Ceremonies and was responsible for establishing drill and ceremony policies Air Force-wide.

In October 1990, Chief Pavey was reassigned to Headquarters, Air Force Reserve, where he served as Assistant Superintendent in the Office of Protocol. Next, Chief Pavey was assigned to the Directorate of Operational Plans and Interpretability, J-7, The Joint Staff, The Pentagon, where he served as Superintendent, Personnel/Information Management Branch. In January 1997, Chief Pavey was selected to serve as Superintendent, Executive Services Division, Headquarters, United States Air Force, in direct support of the Secretary and Chief of Staff of the Air Force. Chief Pavey was reassigned to the 11th Operations Group, Bolling AFB, D.C., in January 1998, where he served as Superintendent. In this position, he was responsible for the career development of the more than 450 assigned enlisted personnel.

Chief Pavey’s education includes a Juris Doctor from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; a Bachelor of Science degree in Management/Computer Information Systems, summa cum laude, from Park College; and an Associate’s degree in Information Management from the Community College of the Air Force. Additionally, Chief Pavey completed all levels of professional military education and was a Distinguished Graduate and recipient of the Academic Achievement Award at the NCO Leadership School, as well as the recipient of the Communication Skills Award from the Air Force Senior NCO Academy.

Chief Pavey’s decorations include the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters, the Joint Service Commendation Medal, the Air Force Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters, the Joint Service Achievement Medal, and the Air Force Achievement Medal. Additionally, he is the recipient of the Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal. Chief Pavey’s awards include selection as the 1987 Basic Military Training School’s Master Military Training Instructor of the Year, the 1988 Lackland AFB NCO of the Year, the 1991 Robins AFB Senior NCO of the Year, the 1992 Air Force Reserve Senior NCO of the Year, the 1995 Air Force Joint Staff Senior NCO of the Year, the 1995 National Capital Region Senior NCO of the Year, and the 1995 Air Force Element Senior NCO of the Year. Chief Pavey is the recipient of the Air Force Outstanding Airmen of the Year Ribbon with one oak leaf cluster, as well as the Air Force Recognition Ribbon for his selection as the 1989 Air Force Military Training Instructor of the Year.

Chief Pavey’s effective date of promotion is December 1, 1998, and he retired from the Air Force effective December 1, 2000. Following retirement from the Air Force, Chief Pavey attended the University of North Carolina School of Law, located at Chapel Hill. Graduating in May 2003, he subsequently took and passed the North Carolina Bar. He currently practices law in Sylva, North Carolina, and is a partner in the firm of Pavey & Smith, P.A. Chief Pavey’s professional involvement includes life memberships in the Air Force Association, the Air Force Sergeant’s Association, and the Noncommissioned Officer’s Association. He is also a member of the North Carolina Bar Association, as well as the Sylva Rotary Club. In 2005, he was commissioned a Kentucky Colonel by the Honorable Ernie Fletcher, Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. He was a member of the Founding Board of Directors of the USAF Military Training Instructor Association and was elected its first President in November 2002.

MSgt Chasity HertVice President
MSgt Chasity Hert entered Basic Training in May 1999, and was assigned to the 320 TRS. Upon completion of Basic Military Training (BMT), she attended Technical Training at Lackland Air Force Base (AFB), TX, as a Security Forces Specialist.

Her first duty assignment was at McGuire AFB, NJ. In July 2002, she became a Phoenix Raven member. As a Phoenix Raven she was deployed and provided security in an undisclosed location in direct support of OEF/OIF and Presidential Support missions. In June of 2004, she was selected to serve as a Military Training Instructor (MTI). While assigned to the 326 TRS, MSgt Hert earned the awards of NCO of the Quarter, Performer of the Month, and the best in academics.

In September 2008, she returned back to the Security Forces community and was stationed at Fort Dix, NJ, where she served as NCOIC and Program Manager for the Phoenix Raven and Anti-Terrorism Level II course. In January 2013 she returned to Basic Military Training and was assigned to the 324 TRS. In January 2014 she was reassigned to the 326 TRS as an Instructor Supervisor. In April 2015, MSgt Hert was assigned to the Military Training Instructor School.

MSgt Hert’s decorations include the Air Force Commendation Medal with 3 oak leaf clusters, Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary and Service Medal, and the Humanitarian Service Medal.

SMSgt Ben FitzgeraldVice President
TSgt Giselle JanousekTreasurer
MSgt Megan HarperSecretary
TSgt Kevin CarmonyBenevolent Fund President