The Master Military Training Instructor of the Year, more commonly referred to as the Blue Rope of the Year, was first awarded in 1980. Those selected for this prestigious honor are recognized as the premier instructor for Air Force Basic Training for that year.  To recognize their achievement in perpetuity, their names are affixed to the Blue Rope of the Year Monument on the Lackland AFB (JBSA) Parade Grounds.

TSgt Stephen Bong
TSgt Stephen Bong1980 - 3704 BMTS
TSgt Garry D. Henry
TSgt Garry D. Henry1981 - 3708 BMTS
TSgt James Fox
TSgt James Fox1982 - 3701 BMTS
SSgt Harry Creacy, Jr.
SSgt Harry Creacy, Jr.1983 - 3708 BMTS
TSgt John Gonzales
TSgt John Gonzales1984 - 3723 BMTS
SSgt Damon Flemmons, Jr.
SSgt Damon Flemmons, Jr.1985 - 3723 BMTS
SSgt Raymond Salamy
SSgt Raymond Salamy1986 - 3708 BMTS
TSgt John J. Pavey, Jr.
TSgt John J. Pavey, Jr.1987 - 3706 BMTS
SSgt Christopher Holt
SSgt Christopher Holt1988 - 3706 BMTS
TSgt Patricia Barrett
TSgt Patricia Barrett1989 - 3743 BMTS
TSgt Anthony Grandberry
TSgt Anthony Grandberry1990 - 3706 BMTS
TSgt William D. L. Dambacher
TSgt William D. L. Dambacher1991 - 3711 BMTS
Sgt Shauna Wade
Sgt Shauna Wade1992 - 320 TRS
SSgt Maurice Pierce
SSgt Maurice Pierce1993 - 323 TRS
SrA David Staton
SrA David Staton1994 - 320 TRS
SSgt Beth Peura
SSgt Beth Peura1995 - 737 TRG
SSgt Michael Jewell
SSgt Michael Jewell1996 - 331 TRS
SrA Chad Cribb
SrA Chad Cribb1997 - 320 TRS
TSgt Jennifer Bear
TSgt Jennifer Bear1998 - 321 TRS
SSgt Anthony Lamagna
SSgt Anthony Lamagna1999 - 331 TRS
SSgt Christopher Bell
SSgt Christopher Bell2000 - 322 TRS
SSgt Xavier King
SSgt Xavier King2001 - 320 TRS
TSgt Phillip Easton
TSgt Phillip Easton2002 - 322 TRS
SSgt Roy Massey
SSgt Roy Massey2003 - 323 TRS
SSgt Blaine Listenbee
SSgt Blaine Listenbee2004 - 323 TRS
SSgt Chrissie Valenza
SSgt Chrissie Valenza2005 - 326 TRS
TSgt Kenneth J. Pryga
TSgt Kenneth J. Pryga2006 - 737 TRSS
TSgt Justin G. Apticar
TSgt Justin G. Apticar2007 - 321 TRS
TSgt Jennifer Blackmarr
TSgt Jennifer Blackmarr2008 - Stan Team
SSgt Scott R. Weimer
SSgt Scott R. Weimer2009 - 323 TRS
TSgt Julie DePriest
TSgt Julie DePriest2010 - 323 TRS
TSgt Brian Fisher
TSgt Brian Fisher2011 - 322 TRS
TSgt Joshua Hite
TSgt Joshua Hite2012 - 322 TRS
TSgt Eddie Glover
TSgt Eddie Glover2013 - 322 TRS
MSgt Nicholas Urdiales
MSgt Nicholas Urdiales2014 - 323 TRS
MSgt Chasity Hert
MSgt Chasity Hert2015 - MTIS
MSgt Nick Carrier
MSgt Nick Carrier2016 - 323 TRS